Holy Underwear

Flowers Summer 2009 189-1Sounds personal. And maybe it is. Today I got dressed and noticed a hole in my underwear. Sorry if that’s too much information. My first reaction was…ooops, better throw it in the trash and put on another pair. One should never get caught wearing underwear with a hole in it because…what if you get in an accident and someone in the emergency room notices you have a hole in your underwear…or so I was cautioned growing up back in the 60’s. Imperfection EXPOSED??! NEVER!!

I’m much more practical and far less  concerned about imperfection in my belongings these days. Moth holes can be patched. Sofa stains can be cleaned. Shoes can be resoled. Things can be repaired. It takes a whopping big imperfection before I’m willing to make an introduction to the trash bag. It’s just stuff anyways.

On the other hand, I’m relentless about discovering my inner imperfections and hitting the delete button. Seriously. It’s not like I’m obsessed with being perfect…it’s more like I’m obsessed with being the best I can be. Where I’ve been hurt, I practice forgiveness. Where I fall short, I look for solutions. If my actions or words cause someone else grief, I apologize. Conscious living is what I strive for.

I guess what it comes down to is awareness. Knowing what to repair and what to discard. What to let go of and what to keep around…inside or out.

I still smile everytime I find a hole in my underwear and realize there’s always a choice in life…as I put it in the laundry basket! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

