Bloomin’ ZuCcHiNi Bread

ZUCCHINI *** ZUCCHINI *** ZUCCHINI

 

Market in August 014-2

I’m going to go in a different direction in this post. As I’ve mentioned before, I spend most Saturday mornings at Eastern Market. Between the market, and generous friends, I have an abundance of zucchini in my frig. Can’t let it go to waste. So, I’ve been experimenting with recipes. I’m going to share my Zucchini Bread Recipe. I have added some ingredients of my own, and altered some proportions, and personally…this one is TO DIE FOR!!! Enjoy…..

CATHY’S – BlOoMiN’  ZuCcHiNi  BrEaD

3 eggs

1 cup oil (any kind)

1 cup sugar

1 cup brown sugar

2 tsp. vanilla

2 cups grated zucchini (green with skin on)

1 8oz. can crushed pineapple

3/4 cups shredded sweetened coconut

3 cups unbleached flour

2 tsp. baking soda

1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. nutmeg

1 cup chopped walnuts

1 cup raisins

1 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Beat eggs, oil, sugar, vanilla – stir in zucchini, pineapple and coconut

Mix together seperately flour, baking soda, cinammon and nutmeg then combine with wet mixture in thirds

Stir in raisins and walnuts

Pour into greased (pam baking spray works great) – I use (3) disposable loaf tins (which I throw in the dish washer and reuse) – but you can use 2 larger loaf pans

Bake for 55 – 60 minutes

Serve with butter and jam of course 🙂 – oh, and don’t get on the scale in the morning

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bloomin’ ZuCcHiNi Bread

  1. Jim says:

    We did not grow any Zucchini this year (garden near A2) but plan to next year. Friends in TC have lots, we see them next week. I really want to try this.

    Love your photography.

  2. Kay West says:

    Cathy,
    It has taken me awhile to sit down and look up your site. It is just beautiful.
    Your thoughts and insights are so inspiring. Keep up the good work. You are getting close to the freedom you seek.
    Thank you for the beautiful blooms. God’s handiwork at it’s best.
    Kay

  3. Cathy Ross says:

    I didn’t taste the TJ&S Z**Bread – but this one is a keeper. Slightly undercook…put in frig…Day 2 is amazing!! Kenzie and I have gone through 1 1/2 loaves 🙂 Try it, you’ll like it!

  4. Lisa says:

    If this is half as good as the Traffic Jam & Snug zucchini bread I bought at Eastern Market that day we went? Yeah. Can you say: Fat Pants??? 🙂

    Lovely shot!

Leave a Reply

