Stairway to Heaven

“There is life after death but you have to create it before you leave”.  Dad

The Vase 080-2

Dad gets this – but I don’t think the lady who’s sure that all glitter turns to gold gets it cuz she’s gonna buy her stairway to heaven.

Dad and I talk every morning on my way to work. It’s a tradition. We’ve done it for years. It’s one of my favorite times of the day. This morning Dad shared this quote with me. He made it up and I thought it was good so I wrote it down. As I drove to work, I pondered his statement and realized that the real stairway to heaven is living consciously and being kind to others without expecting anything in return. And then I started to think about my friends and how I’ve been inspired by them. And…”Yes, there are two paths you can go by but in the long run there’s still time to change the road you’re on”…conscious kindness.

Let me share a few examples. Like David and his wife Angela. They honor American servicemen and women by buying their meal when they see them dining in a restaurant and personally thank them for their service to this country. Totally random and totally awesome. How cool is that to show respect and gratitude by buying a meal for a soldier!

Then there’s my friend Hugh, whom I’ve known since High School. Hugh has a passion for mentoring kids in the youth group at his church. Every summer he takes the kids on a mission trip to help folks in need…this year they went to Maine. Hugh has always had a big heart.

My friend Joe, another longtime friend, has a heart of gold and a soft spot for kids. He recently took a day off of work to host physically challenged kids on his boat. They ALL had a blast! Another time, Joe adotped a family of six from the inner-city from the church and generously bought Christmas gifts for everyone, from coats to boots to toys to housewares-I know because I got to wrap them all! It was amazing.

And not to be overlooked – MOMS!! My dear friend Lisa totally gets the “Mother Of The Year” award. Lisa set aside her successful career as an attorney to be a full-time Mom to her daughter Katie. Lisa is 44…Katie is 4.  She keeps her cool and is patient and kind when adorable drama queen Katie melts down and any normal parent would tear their hair out (thank God for facebook to vent) I love to watch them in action. It’s refreshing, consistent and unconditional! Not only that…Lisa is my inspiration for photography and my blog…if it wasn’t for Lisa, I’m not sure I would have stepped into this world. Her blog Click! is fantastic http://lisahudson.wordpress.com and through her photographic eye she shares her inspiring insights. I visit often for a lift.

 I think this is what Dad is referring to. The choices we make in how we live our lives creates our afterlife experience. I think the Stairway to Heaven is shortened when we choose to live a life that includes kindness towards others. “Your stairway lies on the whispering wind. And if you listen very hard the truth will come to you at last – when all are one and one is all – to be a rock and not to roll”.

I am inspired by so many people and so many acts of kindness.  Memories created by acts of kindness last forever by all who are touched. What simple act can I do today to bring happiness or joy to someone else? I’m not interested in buying a stairway to heaven. I want to earn my stairway to heaven.

Love to all!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stairway to Heaven

  1. Lisa says:

    Ok, that was about the kindest thing I’ve ever heard. Thank you, Cath. Funny how what you perceive is so hard for me to accept. Most of the time I think I’m completely coming unglued!!!

    Your friendship is an equal inspiration to me. As is your passion for photography and attaching such incredible sentiment to beautiful pictures. Looking forward to our Christmas trip back to Michigan and wondering what beautiful things we’ll be able to photograph in the snow!

    Love you, Cath. You’re awesome!!

Leave a Reply

