Stories Without Words

 

There are stories, and then there are stories. Some have words, some don’t. Hands tell fascinating stories without any words, at least in my opinion. While I was intently photographing eggplants at the market yesterday, this farmer struck up a conversation with me. Her words, echoing her gentle yet knowledgeable voice, danced in the wind bustling around my ears, but the most amazing story came from her hands…slightly weathered with a light dusting of earth. From the way she handled the eggplants with  natural confidence to the way she peeled back the leaves to reveal a perfect white star against the brilliant purple skin, I sensed years of being grounded in the earth and a deep cognitive relationship with vegetative plant life. Her wealth of knowledge, it seemed, came from years of experience.

At once I was struck by her raw beauty and glistening eyes as she shared a knowledge so ingrained and so natural that it rang sweetly in the cool crisp air. I remember each word she related on how to prepare these sweet lovely Japanese eggplants…but even moreso, I shall remember her hands, and the richness of the story they told me, even without the words.

 

Cheers,

Cathy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Stories Without Words

  1. I think hands are often are more true portrait of a person than the face – nice shot.

  2. Julie G. says:

    Cathy, a most beautiful post!

  3. Aundrianna says:

    Hi Cathy,
    We met at the Boston Tea Room. I visit this site often and I am always touched by your writings as well as your photographs. You are a gifted artist that truly touches the soul.
    Thank you for this site, it helps to remind me of the subtle richness in the beauty of life. I hope this message finds you and your muse having fun and feeling joy….

    Be in Light&Love,
    Aundrianna

    • Cathy Ross says:

      Hi Aundriana,
      What a joy to hear from you! I have thought of you often these past few weeks and those precious moments we had sharing stories. I’m delighted to receive your special note! I’m so happy that you enjoy my blog and am touched by your words. My muse continues to guide me in her whimsical ways! I will see you soon! 🙂
      Cathy

      • Aundrianna says:

        Hi Cathy,
        Just a quick note that I am not at the BTR anymore. I am now only working out of my office in Birmingham. You can always reach me at sparkthelightwithin@gmail.com I would leave my number but I don’t know if thats ok to do that on a blog.

        Be in Light&Love,
        Aundrianna

      • Cathy Ross says:

        Thanks for the update Aundrianna! I will definitely be in touch. Thanks for leaving me your email!! 🙂

  4. Aundrianna says:

    Hi Cathy,
    We met at the Boston Tea Room. I visit this site often and I am always touched by your writings as well as your photographs. You are a gifted artist that truly touches the soul. Thank you for this site, it helps remind me of the subtle richness in the beauty of life. I hope this message finds you and your muse having fun and feeling joy….

    Be in Light&Love,
    Aundrianna

Leave a Reply

